Hints & Tips

DIY Crayon case

Don’t you just love pinterest , and all those Mommy blogs that show you things you need-to-make-otherwise-your-life-has-no-meaning.  Well, I came across one of these amazing ideas and found myself wondering ‘why didn’t I think of that’?

A DIY recycled DVD case crayon/paper holder…I know amazing huh!

Found the instructions here: http://stacyvaughnblog.blogspot.ca/2012/04/dvd-coloring-case.html

She has a great tutorial and great step-by-step instructions so I won’t go into detail about how it’s made but will show you my photos of it. I rushed through the cutting of the DVD case, I advise taking time to do this and do a nice clean cut, trust me it will be worth it in the end!

crayon holder2

crayon holder1 crayon holder

I had some left over fabric pieces that worked great for this – I removed the outer covering of the case (the website doesn’t mention this but I didn’t like it) and covered it with some card stock, then I printed some of my kids latest favourite characters!
crayon holder ayse crayon holder onur

crayonholder inside

and yes I coloured in the pages 😛 …I found it very therapeutic!!

Love how it carries  all the crayons and paper on the side (those clips come in very handy!)

 

These are a great idea for traveling, or in the car or anywhere you need the kids quiet for a little while!

 

Leave a Reply

