100 Activity Days

Felt shapes & quiet time activity

I saw this idea here http://www.rockabyebutterfly.com/2012/01/button-board.html

I knew this was one activity I had to do for the kids, as I really needed something to ‘wind them down for sleep time’  They get so hyper right before bedtime, even story time becomes a game and they end up running around the room = frustrated, tired Mommy!!

The blog mentions that these were old puzzle boxes, which is ingenious as you can put the pieces inside when not using them.  I didn’t have any of those but I did have lots of cereal boxes and I figured they can just store the pieces in there 😀

What you will need:

Felt pieces
Buttons (as many as you want on it – I put 5)
Double sided tape
Scissors
Boxes
Needle  & Thread

So you will first have to cover the box with the felt pieces.

felt board raw
I didn’t have any good glue on hand and I was anxious for the kids to start using it and thought that white glue would take a long time to dry and may not hold onto the shinny side of the boxes, so instead I used double sided tape.
felt board blank felt board blank green
I put the pieces all around and down the middle too, stuck the felt on and then realized that I should have sewn on the buttons first
felt board buttons
So I did just that… sewed on 5 buttons and then glued down the felt piece.

felt board
After that I went and cut out some shapes from the other pieces of felt I had. I did basic shapes for now…but later on I’ll surprise the kids and make some stars, hearts, moon shapes and any other shapes that I can come up with 🙂

That’s all… let them at it and play!

felt board playing A felt board playing felt board playing O

Mr. O loved that he got to put all the pieces on himself and could take it off too! Kept him occupied for a good 15 minutes at least!
Miss A struggled with the buttons, but soon she was putting them on and at least trying to do it… so all in all a great little project!

I even got a ‘I liked this activity Mommy’ from Mr. O 😀 = happy Mommy!!

 

Elle

Leave a Reply

